Mat Blast


This class is taught by:

James Dorfer

Methods: Reformer Pilates, Reformer: Tone and Stretch, Power Reformer, Jump Board, Mat Pilates
 
James was a professional dancer and musician and so much more. All of his life experience comes forward in his classes. His reformer classes tend to be thoughtful and fun, but he always tailors the class to his clients' fitness goals. He wants you to learn concepts of moving and posture while having fun and feeling it the next couple days, or 6! Nicknames he's had: Joe jr, Wizard, Nerd, Sargent, and at Tribe he might be known as the Dictator. He has many movement backgrounds and anatomical knowledge sources that will enhance your practice of Pilates and hopefully your daily life. Just come in, get ready to work it out and have fun! =)

Julie Smith

Methods: Power BARRE, Reformer Pilates, Tone and Stretch, Yoga
 
Julie discovered Pilates after years of equestrian injuries caught up with her busy life. She holds mat certifications through Power Pilates and Balanced Body, comprehensive equipment through PhysicalMind Institute, and Prenatal/Postnatal Recovery specialized training through Fusion Pilates. The Gyrotonic® method deepened and expanded her movement practice. Creating Better Barre to make form-focused, Pilates based Barre classes accessible and fun, she opened Barre Up in Raleigh, NC and has trained teachers in boutique studios and fitness clubs. She added her 200 RYT and Buti® Yoga certifications to take the intensity of Kundalini yoga into a dynamic and active format. She enjoys weaving snippets of all these disciplines into every class.

Striving to teach the bodies in front of her in open and welcoming classes, Julie creates mind-body connection with sometimes quirky imagery to generate tangible results - and laughter! Her happiest moments are seeing her clients excelling in their daily lives with focus and poise.

Wanna blast your midsection into shape? This is the class for you! Using traditional Mat Pilates protocols (the use of exercise mats instead of traditional Reformer equipment), light weights, resistance bands, and standing exercises, you’ll strengthen your body, define muscle, jump start your metabolism, burn fat, and increase your flexibility. All it takes is a little resistance and counter-resistance—and a whole lotta yes I can. Grip socks recommended (available for purchase).

Upcoming classes:

  • Fri Aug 17 7:00 am - 7:50 am with James Dorfer
  • Sat Aug 18 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith
  • Sun Aug 19 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith
  • Fri Aug 24 7:00 am - 7:50 am with James Dorfer
  • Sat Aug 25 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith
  • Sun Aug 26 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith
  • Fri Aug 31 7:00 am - 7:50 am with James Dorfer
  • Sat Sep 01 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith
  • Fri Sep 07 7:00 am - 7:50 am with James Dorfer
  • Sat Sep 08 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith
  • Fri Sep 14 7:00 am - 7:50 am with James Dorfer
  • Sat Sep 15 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith
  • Fri Sep 21 7:00 am - 7:50 am with James Dorfer
  • Sat Sep 22 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith
  • Fri Sep 28 7:00 am - 7:50 am with James Dorfer
  • Sat Sep 29 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith
  • Fri Oct 05 7:00 am - 7:50 am with James Dorfer
  • Sat Oct 06 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith
  • Fri Oct 12 7:00 am - 7:50 am with James Dorfer
  • Sat Oct 13 10:00 am - 10:50 am with Julie Smith